Wiltshire, Dorset, Hampshire & Somerset

The NEBOSH National Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management course covers the management of health and safety and in particular fire safety, including legal requirements. It also includes principles of fire and explosion, causes and prevention of fires, fire protection in buildings and ensuring the safety of people in the event of a fire.


The content is designed to equip those studying it to undertake fire risk assessments in most, low-risk workplaces.


The syllabus is mapped to both the National Occupational Standards for Health and Safety owned by Proskills and the Fire Safety National Occupational Standards owned by SkillsPlus.

No previous health and safety or fire safety knowledge are required although it should be noted that the assessment includes a requirement to write a short report.

What Does the Qualification Cover?


The qualification is divided into three units, each of which is assessed separately: 

  • Management of Health and Safety (NG1)*
  • Fire Safety and Risk Management (FC1)

  • Practical Fire Risk Assessment (FC2)

Full Course from Only £1,200 plus VAT

10 days, plus two exams.

FC1 (4 days + exam):

Conversion Course Only £745 plus VAT

5 days + exam.

Delegates should have already attained NEBOSH National General Certificate (NGC1) within the previous 5 years.


The NEBOSH Fire Safety and Risk Management Qualification are made up of the following units:

Unit NG1: Management of Health and Safety


  • Element 1: Why we should manage workplace health and safety

  • Element 2: How health and safety management systems work and what they look like

  • Element 3: Managing risk – understanding people and processes

  • Element 4: Health and safety monitoring and measuring

The syllabus guide and other useful documentation and information can be found here

Unit FC1: Fire Safety and Risk Management

  • Element 1: Managing fire safety

  • Element 2: Principles of fire and explosion

  • Element 3: Causes and prevention of fires and explosions

  • Element 4: Fire protection in buildings

  • Element 5: Safety of people in the event of a fire

  • Element 6: Fire safety risk assessment

Unit FC2: Fire Safety Practical Application.


Assessment is a two-step process:


This accredited NEBOSH qualification is assessed by two exams of 2 hours each (*1 exam for the conversion course), and a workplace-based practical inspection project.


The exams are conducted in the centre where you studied NG1 and/or FC1.


The practical assignment is completed in the workplace; the practical assignment should take no longer than a day to complete and you will have 10 days from the exam date to return it to us by email.


Those who successfully complete the course and pass the assessments are awarded the official NEBOSH National Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management.


Certificates are forwarded to the candidate by us approximately 16 weeks after completion of the course although results are usually issued within 12 weeks.


Full-time Block Courses

How are Courses Run?

Our NEBOSH courses are run as full-time block courses, usually, Monday to Friday 9:00 am until approximately 5:00 pm.


Whilst other health and safety training providers may attempt to offer the NEBOSH courses in other formats, such as e-learning, distance learning, one day a week/month etc, in our experience we have consistently found that full-time block courses with exams scheduled afterwards make for a significantly improved likelihood of delegates passing the assessments first time around.

What's Included?

There are NO hidden extras to pay on top of our health and safety training course prices, unlike other providers who charge extra for things like study books and exam fees.


All of our NEBOSH General Certificate courses have the following included in the course cost:

  • The course study book

  • Revision materials

  • All examination fees

  • All certification fees

  • Refreshments

  • Ongoing support